Lancers Announce Award Nominees

(WINDSOR, ON) – The University of Windsor Department of Athletics and Recreational Services has announced the major award nominees for the 2018-19 Lancers Evening of Excellence. Winners will be announced at the annual awards banquet, which will take place on Tuesday April 2, at the St Clair Centre for the Arts.

The nominees for University of Windsor female rookie of the year are Mandy Brunet from track and field, Ally Winik from volleyball, and Jessica Gribbon from hockey. On the men’s side, rookie of the year nominees includes Cole Verlinde from football, Thomas Kennedy from basketball, and John Wesley from hockey.

The super sophomore awards are presented to the outstanding second year female and male athletes. The female nominees are Samantha Gucciardi from basketball, Brooke Davis from volleyball, and Melanie Burgess from golf. The male super sophomore nominees are Daniel Stirling from football, Tanner Page from soccer, and Anthony Atkinson from track and field.

The Captain’s Trophy is presented to the male and female captains who demonstrate outstanding leadership both on and off the field while also making a significant contribution to the overall success of the team. Female nominees include Rachel Chantler from hockey, Lexi Pollard from volleyball, and Keely Baggio from soccer while male nominees include John Moate from volleyball, Anthony Pollock from soccer, and Kyle Haas from hockey.

The Champions Cup is a department trophy that’s awarded each year to the men’s and women’s varsity team that best exemplifies what it takes to be a champion in the classroom, on the playing field, and throughout the community. The finalists for the Cup are women’s hockey, women’s basketball, and Lancer golf.

The Eddi Chittaro Assistant Coach of the Year will be presented for the first time this year. The nominees are Tom Foster from women’s basketball, Tina Sharmen from track and field, Andrew Foster from women’s volleyball, and Will Alexander from men’s volleyball.

The Gino Fracas Coach of the Year category has four outstanding nominees this year. They include James Gravelle from men’s volleyball, Adam Wagner from Lancer Golf, Lucas Hodgson from women’s volleyball, and Emma Duinker from women’s basketball.

The prestigious DeMarco Awards are presented yearly to the top female and male student-athletes who best combine academics and athletics. The female nominees include Melanie Burgess from Lancer Golf, Ashley Maitre from hockey, and Alana Gyemi from volleyball and male nominees for the DeMarco Award include Brad Gyemi from volleyball, Sam Girard from football, and Bryce Phillips from soccer.

The Banner Shield is presented annually to the University of Windsor’s outstanding female athlete of the year. This year’s three nominees include Carly Steer from basketball, Mandy Brunet from track and field, and Brooke Davis from volleyball.

The Olympic Shield is presented annually to the University of Windsor’s outstanding male athlete of the year. The nominees this year are John Moate from volleyball, Pierce Johnson from volleyball, and Daniel Metcalfe from football.

2018-19awardsWindsor Lancers