Local Athletes Honoured At 14th WESPY Awards

(WINDSOR, ON) – The 14th annual WESPY Awards were distributed last nigh at the Caboto Club in Windsor. Winners in 35 categories took home well-earned hardware which recognized student-athletes, volunteers, coaches, and leaders in 15 separate sports.

The St Clair Saints were awarded five individual and team trophies including the men’s cross country which earned Team of the Year honours. Additionally, Cassie Nicholas earned the Captain’s Leadership Award, cross country boss Paul Boots was Coach of the Year, Michaela Rilett took the award for softball, and Miguel Cienfuegos on the baseball side of the house.

WESPY Awards Gallery

There were four winners representing the Windsor Lancers. Kelsey Balkwill won the Dennis Fairall Award, named for the long-time Lancers track and field coach, while Emily Prevost and Mike Rocca swept the basketball category. As well, John Moate was named the men’s volleyball winner.

High school student-athletes and leaders took away 13 awards with Holy Names topping out with three as Paul Di Meo was named for soccer, Michael Herzog for football, and Jasmine Ly for golf. L’Essor was a double winner when Virginie Gascon and Gabriel Sementilli swept the women’s and men’s wrestling awards, respectively. Other winners included St Anne’s Stacey Ditchfield (Female Volunteer of the Year), Cardinal Carter’s Chris Church (Male Volunteer of the Year), Sandwich’s Alessandra Pontoni (soccer), Walkerville’s Madeleine McDonald (swimming), Riverside’s Caylee Parker (volleyball), and Massey’s Noah Costa (track and field).

Hockey players dominated the awards as Villanova’s Kristen Swiatoschik was named for her sport as well as Female Athlete of the Year while the Ottawa 67s’ Mike DiPietro, of Amherstburg, duplicated the feat in the men’s category.

14th Annual WESPY Award Winners

Coach of the Year

  • Paul Boots – St. Clair College Cross Country

Female Athlete of the Year

  • Kristen Swiatoschik – Villanova H.S. / Southwest Wildcats

Male Athlete of the Year

  • Mike Dipietro – Ottawa 67s

Mickey Renaud Captain’s Leadership Award

  • Cassie Nicholas – St. Clair College Soccer

Team of the Year

  • St. Clair College Men’s Cross Country

Knobby Knudsen Female Volunteer of the Year

  • Stacey Ditchfield – St. Anne S.S.

Knobby Knudsen Male Volunteer of the Year

  • Chris Church – Cardinal Carter S.S. / Essex Ravens Football

McTague Law Firm Award for Courage and Determination

  • Carson Hamlin

John DeNapoli Sports Community Service Award

  • Mike Dugal – Assist Program

Female Legacy Award

  • Rosemary Smyth

Unifor Local 444 & 2458 Male Legacy Award

  • Jerry Serviss

Ken Dryden Executive of the Year Award

  • Marty Komsa – PGA Tour Canada – Windsor Championship

Female Nominees for the 14th Annual WESPY Awards

Dennis Fairall Track & Field Award

  • Kelsey Balkwill – Windsor Lancers / Border City Athletics Club

Ed Jovanovski Hockey Award

  • Kristen Swiatoschik – Southwest Wildcats / Villanova S.S.

Softball Award

  • Michaela Rilett – St. Clair College

Soccer Award

  • Alessandra Pontoni – Sandwich S.S. / Eastside Kickers

Tim Hommel Volleyball Award

  • Caylee Parker – Riverside S.S. / Sky Volleyball Club

Swimming Award

  • Madeleine McDonald – Windsor Aquatic Club / Walkerville S.S.

Parasport Athletics Award

  • Corbin Watson – Essex – Kent Ice Bullets / Sledge Hockey Canada

Wrestling Award

  • Virginie Gascon – L’Essor Wrestling Club

Golf Award

  • Jasmine Ly – Kingsville Golf C.C. / Holy Names H.S.

Basketball Award

  • Emily Prevost – Windsor Lancers


  • Daniel Hodare – Windsor Alpha Gymnastics Academy

Figure Skating

  • Alison Schumacher – Riverside Skating Club

Male Nominees for the 14th Annual WESPY Awards

Dennis Fairall Track & Field Award

  • Noah Costa – Massey S.S. / Windsor Legion

Ed Jovanovski Hockey Award

  • Michael DiPietro – Windsor Spitfires

Soccer Award

  • Paul Dimeo – Holy Names S.S./ Windsor TFC U-18

Baseball Award

  • Miguel Cienfuegos – St. Clair Green Giants/ St. Clair Saints

Tim Hommel Volleyball Award

  • John Moate – Windsor Lancers

Swimming Award

  • Brendan Oswald – Windsor Aquatic Club

Gino Fracas Football Award

  • Michael Herzog – Holy Names S.S.

Wrestling Award

  • Gabriel Sementilli – L’Essor S.S. / L’Essor Wrestling Club

Golf Award

  • Luc Warnock – Essex Golf & CC


  • Mike Rocca – Windsor Lancers

Horseman Award

  • Dean Nixon