Sports Info Central

St Clair Hands Out The Hardware


(WINDSOR, ON) – The 51st Annual St Clair College Athletic Awards Banquet was held on April 10 at the St Clair Centre for the Arts, in Windsor. Six major prizes along with multiple recognitions of academic, intramural, and varsity team awards highlighted the night.

Athletes of the Year

The Mason MacDonald Award is presented yearly to each of the male and female graduating athletes who have displayed outstanding athletic abilities while maintaining exemplary academic performance and school involvement during their years at St Clair College.

The trophy was donated by and named for Mason MacDonald, former Athletic Director of the Western Ontario Institute of Technology, the predecessor of St Clair College.

  • Shannon Kennedy – Women’s Basketball
  • Kyle Breitner – Baseball

Athlete of the Year for Outstanding Achievement

The Al Hoffman Award recognizes intercollegiate athletes who perform at a high level of athletic excellence combined with sound scholastic achievement, who have excelled in athletic competition at the college, regional, provincial, and/or national levels, and whose efforts have contributed to the success, competitiveness, enhancement, and overall quality of their respective sport.

The award is named after former Athletic Director Al Hoffman, who was inducted into the OCAA, CCAA, and Windsor Essex County Sports Hall of Fame.

  • Jessica Masse – Women’s Volleyball
  • Tyler Jones – Men’s Cross-Country

Coach of the Year

The Inter-Collegiate Coach of the Year Award is presented to the Varsity head coach whose teams exemplify a high level of performance, sportsmanship, dedication, and leadership. The coach stresses the values of athletic participation in an educational setting and assists in the improvement of athletic skills as well as life skills.

This award is named after former hockey coach Gerald Serviss, who led his teams to three Provincial Championships and one National Championship in 7 seasons.

  • Dave Cooper – Men’s Baseball

John Albert Strasser Coaches Award

Awarded annually to the Varsity coach whose team achieves success athletically while making significant contributions to the community.

  • Paul Boots – Cross Country

Exceptional Service Award

The Exceptional Service Award is presented annually to an individual for his or her outstanding dedication and commitment to the Department of Athletics and Recreation.

The award is named in honour of former hockey coach, Athletic Director, and OCAA Hall of Fame Member, Jack Costello.

  • Ken Ambrose – Posthumously awarded for his dedication to the St Clair Athletics Department

Fair Play and Sportsmanship Award

The award recognizes student-athletes who reflect the true spirit of sport through their exemplary commitment to sportsmanship, fair play, and teamwork.

This award is named in honour of Bob Weepers, a long time Athletic Coordinator, for his commitment and contributions to the athletic programs.

  • Jaimi Chauvin – Women’s Basketball
  • TJ Howard – Men’s Basketball
  • Melanie Jubenville – Women’s Soccer
  • Jordyn Clark – Women’s Softball
  • Michael McKay – Baseball
  • Justin Folkeringa – Men’s Cross Country
  • Robert Carter – Men’s Volleyball
  • Taylor Fitzgerald – Women’s Volleyball

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More